One in Six

October 29, 2006 at 11:09 am 1 comment

This past Sunday I watched a news bite about infertility on CBC Sunday called The Infertility Industry. Most of what was said about infertility in Canada I already knew. What I did not know is that one in six Canadians have trouble conceiving.

Donating (egg and sperm) must be for altruistic reasons and not for profit in Canada. We have laws that prevent this.  This can make it very difficult for women who need to use donor eggs to conceive to find a match, the wait can be quite long. Some will go to the United States to buy donor eggs and some will go “underground” in Canada to a blackmarket I did not know existed. There are webgroups where people meet, exchange info and some will eventually exchange money for a donors eggs.  I think deep down I knew this sort of thing existed but was still surprised to hear about it.

*The following is my opinion only.*

During this report a young lady was interviewed. She has donated 40+ eggs to couples for profit. I take no offence to her having donated her eggs this way but what the reporter stated next had me fuming. This young lady has a son from a previous relationship, has no fertility issues yet decided with her last donation she wanted another child. She “donated” half of her eggs to the couple and kept half for herself to be fertilized with donor sperm and transferred. She is now pregnant. The part that has me seeing red … she is on welfare. My tax dollars are being used to keep a roof over her head, keep her and her young son fed and clothed and she did not have to pay out one single penny to conceive with IVF!

Pissed off does not begin to describe how I feel.

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Dear Co-worker … Fourth Quarter & Final Down

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Carlynn  |  October 31, 2006 at 11:54 am

    Thanks for the quote link, I just checked it out and it looks great, that’s just what I needed.

    I hope things go well this cycle and that your due date brings you good luck to ease a painful anniversary. I’ll be reading with my fingers crossed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who’s that girl?

Me: 36, army wife and mother of two boys. Hoping for "one more miracle". We have tried the adoption route for almost 7 years and have recently changed directions. We are now down this road travelled by many, IF Blvd. 3 diui's, one BFN, two BFP and two heatbreaking miscarriages later we are at a crossroad ... do we try just one more time? Come along for the ride, be sure to have your tables in the upright position and your seatbelt firmly secured ... it is sure to be a bumpy ride.

Menology

October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

