Parenting Faux Pas

October 11, 2006 at 7:50 pm 1 comment

While catching up with some of my favorite IF blogs I came across this post of Julie’s at A Little Pregnant. I came close to peeing my pants or perhaps worse, splitting open one of my swollen ovaries (more on that later). Her post had me thinking back to a car ride with my wee soliders when we lived in Alberta and a small comment by my oldest wee soldier who was just 5 at the time.

I have always been very careful with my choice of words around my children. One word that I find over-used and quite insulting is the word stupid. It is one word that sends me back to being a young lass in elementary school with a teacher who used the word carelessly when speaking with his students making them feel … well … stupid.  Sgt and I agreed that would be one word we would not allow, treating it just as we would words like shit.

One day I was heading into the city to do a bit of shopping. The wee soldiers were sitting in the back seat, munching on Gold*fish crackers and chatting about all the great treats mummy was going to buy for them. The road I was on had two lanes heading east and there was a woman in the car ahead of me using both going particularly slow. Frustration was begining to set in (I have a slight road-rage issue, I admit) and I muttered to myself “Come on you stupid bitch, pick a lane already.” Now, you would think that my being a mother and knowing full well that kids hear everything that you never want them to hear and nothing you do want them to hear I would know better than to mutter something like that under my breath however I have already admitted to having a slight road-rage issue (see above).  From the back seat my oldest pipes up “Mummy, that was not a nice thing you said to that lady.” “Yes sweetie, you’re right. Mummy should not have said that, I’m sorry.” I said to my brown-eyed boy. A slight pause and then …

“You should have called her a silly bitch.”

*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

I have my day 7 appointment tomorrow morning to count and measure my follies. Feels like they are getting heavier by the hour and the ache has now spread to my lower back. I hope there’s a good count yet not to high that they cancel this cycle. Last cycle I had three good size ones at this point with the Letro*zol and Dr.C is hoping to have as many if not one more.

Entry filed under: Appointments, Idle Chatter.

Mr. and Mrs. Customer October Sucks!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Carlyn  |  October 15, 2006 at 8:03 am

    Hee hee, shows you’re a family!

    We don’t have the stupid thing so much but my famils is big on spelling. My sister will phone me if she spots a misspelled word or if someone used a word incorrectly. I love these links that join people together.

    Hope the ultrasounds goes well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who’s that girl?

Me: 36, army wife and mother of two boys. Hoping for "one more miracle". We have tried the adoption route for almost 7 years and have recently changed directions. We are now down this road travelled by many, IF Blvd. 3 diui's, one BFN, two BFP and two heatbreaking miscarriages later we are at a crossroad ... do we try just one more time? Come along for the ride, be sure to have your tables in the upright position and your seatbelt firmly secured ... it is sure to be a bumpy ride.

Menology

October 2006
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

