One Small Step

September 16, 2006 at 11:18 am 1 comment

I crossed a threshold yesterday.

While on break at work I was chatting with a few gals from my floor about autumn, birthdays and my 36 year old eggs. One of the gals commented on her two miscarriages since starting her job and thought stress may be the reason. Ana (I girl I started my training with) became a bit pale. I asked her if everything was OK and she said that the comment made her nervous. She had not told anyone other then her partner that she is expecting (16 weeks) and has had several miscarriages before this. I felt her anxiety, I’ve been there myself, but what I also felt suprised me.

I felt happy for her. Genuine happiness for Ana because she has surpassed all the weeks of her previous miscarriages and her ultrasounds showed everything was looking perfect. I hugged and congratulated her without having that little voice inside me whining “Why not me?” It felt so good to feel happy for someone else instead of bitter. I can’t say it will happen again for another person, but for my friend Ana I have a smile, a hug and and look forward to seeing her big belly in the coming months.

Entry filed under: Idle Chatter.

Happy Birthday to you … You belong in the Zoo 2nd Assessment

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Meg  |  September 17, 2006 at 9:38 pm

    Anita – these situations are so tricky, hey? I am impressed by your response; you must be a big woman! Good on you. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Who’s that girl?

Me: 36, army wife and mother of two boys. Hoping for "one more miracle". We have tried the adoption route for almost 7 years and have recently changed directions. We are now down this road travelled by many, IF Blvd. 3 diui's, one BFN, two BFP and two heatbreaking miscarriages later we are at a crossroad ... do we try just one more time? Come along for the ride, be sure to have your tables in the upright position and your seatbelt firmly secured ... it is sure to be a bumpy ride.

Menology

September 2006
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

